Victoria Restaurants and Dining Guide : chomp!
Reviews
12475414557239.jpg
Lovely Lucy's
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Lucy's had been on my radar for a while, having the notable menu item of 'bacon waffles.' Yes, I tried them and they did not disappoint.
Small, local-ingredient inspired menu. Full drinks list in the AM - who can argue with that! Lucy's = love.
12475414557239.jpg
Brasserie, je t'aime
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Brasserie L'Ecole has an impeccable reputation built on excellent, well-priced food, amazing service, and the biggest beer and wine list EVER.
They recently changed the reservation policy, so they now only seat people on a first come, first serve basis, so arrive early!!
12475414557239.jpg
High quality, family atmosphere
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Cafe Ceylon is a family-run gem of a restaurant just outside of downtown.
The main courses are $20 and up, but are expertly prepared and exquisitely spiced. Every menu item I've had was amazing, but my favourite is the hot pot. The service is also impeccable and the ambiance is cozy - perfect for a family dinner or a nice date.
12475414557239.jpg
Irashaii!
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Koto is the closest that Victoria has to truly authentic Japanese food. Tamami rooms are available, as well as traditional western tables. The waitresses wear kimono and the decor will transport you away. The sushi is delicate and delicious - they have the best rice in town - and the dinner sets are a fantastic deal with many courses. Koto is worth checking out, especially if you have someone to impress.
12475414557239.jpg
Fantastic buffet
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
May Gold Village, where have you been my whole life?!
If you are in the mood for Chinese buffet, do take the 15 minutes to drive out to May Gold. I have tried every Chinese buffet in Victoria, and this is by far the best - excellent selection of seafood, old favourites, and they even have sushi.
12475414557239.jpg
A wonderful experience
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Bengal Lounge has it all - old world glamour, delicious food, and amazing service. It is a fine dining environment, but the staff are not fussy. The curry buffet is renowned and the death by chocolate dessert table is not to be missed!
12475414557239.jpg
Not so hot at the Med Grille
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
My dining partner and I went to Med Grille for a late lunch at an odd time - around 3pm. There were only three other parties in the restaurant, and still the kitchen managed to serve up sad and uninspiring dishes. My steak, ordered "rare" was a full blown medium-well. The greens were shamefully overdressed and the goat cheese was bland. Not a great experience, wouldn't recommend!
12475414557239.jpg
Don't judge a book by its cover
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Pho Vy is the worst-looking restaurant that I frequent. Wallpaper is falling off the walls, paint is chipping, and tacky velvet paintings proliferate. That being said, out of the many Vietnamese establishments we have to choose from, I always go back to Pho Vy.
The pho broth is the best in town, and everything else is also delicious. Definitely try the garlic pork salad rolls! To die for.
12475414557239.jpg
The little thai that could
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Sookjai Thai came onto the scene at a moment in time when thai was really coming onto the scene in Victoria. They definitely have created a niche for themselves, and most nights you will have to wait for a table in this tiny little Fort Street nook. The food is worth it - a little more sophisticated than the other thai restaurants around. I highly recommend the crunchy sweet and sour snapper!
12475414557239.jpg
Best Bento!
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Tamami Sushi has the best Japanese lunch specials in the city. I probably shouldn't give away my little secret - but there it is. Every day there is a sushi special set, or a bento set. The chef is Japanese and the food is authentic and delicious.
12475414557239.jpg
Big menu, yummy food
Reviewed by:Miss E on Oct. 20, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Sen Zushi has a great menu with many items you may not find at other Japanese restaurants. Some of them are very traditional, and some are a western fusion (such as the spicy karaage chicken sushi roll).
Good for lunch or dinner, the food is worth trying.
default.jpg
Birthday party
Reviewed by:suzanne7856 on Oct. 19, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
I was very dissapointed in the food here. My steak was so chewy I couldnt even eat it. The only person at the table that seemed to like the food had a salad.
default.jpg
Once a shining star now dulled
Reviewed by:swellguy on Sep. 9, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Zambri's used to be one of my favorite choices for friendly feeling fresh fare but everything over the last few years has been on the decline.
I'm sure some people get some great food some of the time, but repeated visits over the past 18 months have demonstrated tired techniques, uninteresting combinations and poor, even defensive service.
I'm sure they'll keep going on name alone, but we just won't be going.
default.jpg
Dinner @ Glo
Reviewed by:Mike Koyich on Aug. 3, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Warm summer evening in Victoria and a great patio for dinner. Heat lamps turned on for the cooler part of the evening. Great summer menu with a variety of tapas and dinner selections. Good selection of wines by the glass or bottle. Lamb burger was done to pefdction and Halibut was excellant. Tro of desserts was treat foe the indecesive as you can pick any three to taste.
default02.jpg
Great breakfast spot
Reviewed by:Ethan James on Jul. 31, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Went to the Blue Fox for breakfast with friends on a recent holiday to Victoria. The menu had plenty of interesting choices. I tried the veggie omelet, which was huge and delicious! The atmosphere was playful and fun. Service was good considering a full restaurant with people waiting at the door (a normal thing from what I've heard).

My next trip to Victoria will definitely include a trip back to the Fox.
12475414557239.jpg
Eggcellent
Reviewed by:Miss E on Jul. 26, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
The Blue Fox is a mainstay on the vibrant Victoria breakfast scene. This Zagat rated, funky hole-in-the-wall is right in the heart of the Antique Row area of Fort Street, making it accessible to many of the local folks as well as tourists who are staying in the downtown hotels. I’ve honestly never been to BF when there wasn’t at least a few people waiting in the queue. The menu is breakfast-heavy but boasts lots of original ideas and flavor combinations. I love that you can get anything- sweet, savoury, spicy, ethnic or whatever you’re in the mood for. On this particular occasion my friends and I ordered four dishes – Eggs Blackstone, which is eggs benedict on a bagel with tomatoes and bacon; a veggie omelet; banana porridge with pecans and sour cream sauce; and yogurt and fruit salad. Let’s start by saying the portions are generous, reflected in the slightly higher prices that you’ll find at the Blue Fox. My female companion came on an empty stomach and left half her porridge behind because she was simply stuffed. That said, it was probably the most delicious porridge I’ve ever tasted! The interplay of sweet syrup and sour cream was delightful. The Blackstone was to die for. A bit hard to cut, because of the bagel consistency, but the whole thing was a thumbs up – and I couldn’t even finish the half-order! The veggie omelet and fruit salad were both large and delicious as well. The review can’t conclude without a mention of their fabulous drinks menu. Excellent craft brewed sodas, delicious homemade tea and coffee frappes, and special breakfast Caesars made it difficult to choose.
12475414557239.jpg
Consistently the best Italian
Reviewed by:Miss E on Jul. 26, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Il Terrazzo has been voted the best Italian food restaurant in Victoria for 14 years in a row!! That’s really a tough reputation to beat. It is also known for its extensive wine list, excellent waitstaff and sommeliers, and the beautiful intimate setting. Il Terrazzo is one of those places that’s great for a business lunch, an early wine with your family, or to propose marriage. You can feel like home there, and that’s what keeps people coming back. My favourite dinner item at Il Terrazzo is the roasted chicken. It’s to die for. During this particular outing, I was having an early lunch with a colleague, and so I was searching for something light. After an agonizing decision (so many great choices!) I went for the Insalata con Gamberi – an amazing warm prawn salad over two avocado halves. Did I mention you get free focaccia bread with a heavenly olive tapenade? My dining partner had the fishermans’ soup and was slurping and scooping down to the last drop. I love this place!
12475414557239.jpg
Hand-made noodles daily
Reviewed by:Miss E on Jul. 26, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
Konpira is known for the handmade noodles available in limited quantities for lunch. They come in various preparations - regular udon broth, shoyu, curry udon (my fave!) etc. They are the perfect mix of tender and chewy, and have an interesting shape because they are hand cut. Konpira is not known for excellent service, ambience, or sushi. So keep this in mind when you check it out!
12475414557239.jpg
Don't miss these burgers
Reviewed by:Miss E on Jul. 26, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
The Pink Bicycle had a lot of hype surrounding its opening and menu a few months back. So, I had high expectations when I finally made a date to check it out for lunch with a colleague. We arrived at 12:30pm and there was a table available right away – what an unexpected bonus! Water was on the table in a recycled wine bottle (ok this place gets a thumbs up from this alone) for us to serve as we liked. This was fortuitous as it was very warm and very crowded in the little restaurant. The menu was full of local beef, local bison, local bun….how’s a girl to choose? My dining partner went for the Blue Flame – a beef burger with hot sauce and blue cheese. I finally eeny-meeny-miney-moed on the Swine Burger. Bad name, considering recent flu pandemics, but a delicacy nonetheless. The burger was juicy, very tasty, and smothered in a rich teriyaki sauce. Messy just like a good burger should be. The fries rival any other in the city – I’d say they are on par with my absolute favourite, the frites at Brasserie L’Ecole. I was underwhelmed with my roasted garlic mayo dip, but that was the least of my worries at this point. I think despite my initial skepticisms, Pink Bicycle lives up to its slogan of “Best Burger in the City.”
12475414557239.jpg
Delicious first, vegetarian second
Reviewed by:Miss E on Jul. 26, 2009
Overall
Overall
Services
Services
Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Value
Value
Food
Food
ReBar is a great place to go for a light lunch. The service is not fast - if you have a strict one-hour lunch break, I'd skip ReBar. You also *always* have to have a reservation if you're coming around noon. Why? Because the food is so good, it's always packed! ReBar is known for mostly vegetarian fare with an organic, local bent. I recently had the soup and salad lunch combo and for $9 you get a giant salad with chickpeas, grated carrot and beet, and lovely homemade dressing. I also got a delicious lemongrass carrot soup. With a fresh baked cornbread muffin on the side, I couldn't even finish my portion! Food is great, service is friendly, and the decor is funky.
If you're into delicious and healthy, you'll love ReBar!
Recent ReviewsView All
default.jpg
John's Place Restaurant
Reviewed by: Hungryallthetime
Excellent breakfast!
12621356852669.jpg
Bon Rouge Bistro & Lounge
Reviewed by: Innersoul
Very Nice
12475414557239.jpg
Fan-Tan Cafe
Reviewed by: Miss E
Where the locals lunch